We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

In The Shadow of Mountains

by Bella Hardy

Mary Mean 03:13
Sylvie Sovay 05:40
Cruel Mother 03:18
Island Boy 02:35


Bella Hardy, critically acclaimed for her mesmerising singing and fiddle performances, releases her eagerly awaited second solo album In The Shadow of Mountains. Following the launch of her debut solo album Night Visiting in 2007, Bella Hardy rose to become one of the shining lights of the folk scene, famed for entwining her hypnotic voice with her own fiddle accompaniment to breathtaking effect.

In The Shadow of Mountains breaks to the very heart of Bella’s music. Self produced and uncompromising, it is a collection of unique and stirring interpretations of traditional songs, equally balanced with a mix of compelling originals. The inspiration of her roots in the Dark Peak village of Edale is starkly evident, with music named after local landmarks Broadlee Bank and Crowden, and traditional song "All in the Morning" from the neighbouring village of Castleton featuring guest vocals from the Hardy family. However, the prevailing themes throughout the album focus not only on rural country life (most notable in foot and mouth tale "Smoke & Ashes" and traditional song "Rosebud in June") but also on the mountains faced in everyday life, be they people, places, or situations.

After the recent success of Bella’s song-writing ("Three Black Feathers", written by Bella as a teenager and first recorded on Night Visiting was nominated for Best Original Song in the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2008, and has since appeared on Jim Moray’s award nominated album Low Culture), Bella presents a selection of new works, including "Sylvie Sovay", a modern look at the story of traditional song ‘Sovay Sovay‘.


released August 31, 2009

Vocals – Bella Hardy (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 9, 11), Beth Hardy (tracks: 9), Emma Hardy (tracks: 9), Jan Hardy (tracks: 9), Joe Hardy (6) (tracks: 9)
Backing Vocals – Beth Hardy (tracks: 11), Emma Hardy (tracks: 5, 11)
Fiddle – Bella Hardy (tracks: 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11), Debbie Chalmers (tracks: 4)
Viola – Debbie Chalmers (tracks: 1, 6, 8)
Cello – Lucy Coggle (tracks: 1, 6, 8)
Guitar – Anna Massie (tracks: 5, 7, 11)
Concertina – Chris Sherburn (tracks: 1, 6)
Harp – Corrina Hewat (tracks: 1, 2, 8)

Design – Emma Hardy
Mastered By – Paul McGeechan
Mixed By – Andy Seward
Producer – Bella Hardy
Recorded By – Julien Batten


all rights reserved



Bella Hardy UK

“Brit folk's finest” Mojo Magazine • “Enduringly seductive” The Telegraph • “A fine, no-nonsense interpreter of traditional music and an excellent songwriter” The Guardian • “An aura of sophisti-cation that will win over listeners who never set foot in a folk club” The Sunday Times • “…a shining star in the folk scene’s firmament” fRoots Magazine • “A triumph of folk art-pop” Songlines Magazine ... more

contact / help

Contact Bella Hardy

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Bella Hardy, you may also like: